Assign modules on offcanvas module position to make them visible in the sidebar.

Ансамбль Ходжа-Ахрар

Hodge-Akhrar's ensemble — the complex of constructions of memorial, cult and spiritual and educational appointment which developed in the XV—XX centuries on the suburb of the ancient cemetery Dzhakerdiza in the southern residential suburb of the city of Samarkand (Republic of Uzbekistan). The radical reorganization of ensemble, which completely changed its original form, was carried out in the first half of the 17th century. Additions were made in the 19th and 20th centuries. Emergence of ensemble is connected with a name large religious and the statesman of Transoxiana sheikh Nasyr Ubaydallakh ibn Mahmoud Shasha's hell dyne better known under the name of Hodzhi Akhrara of Valya. Its grave, which is in the territory of a complex, is one of the most esteemed Islam shrines in Central Asia.

History
The foundation for construction of cult constructions in the settlement of Kafshir to the south from Samarkand was laid by Akhrar Hodge. In the second half of the 15th century he constructed here a hanaka which received the name makhautai-mullayan (The habitat of mullahs). The territory around the Sufi hostel was enclosed with a stone wall, and opposite to the building the octagonal pool-house was dug. Hanaka Hodzhi Akhrara lay on one axis with hauzy, and her side facades were parallel to pool sides. The building did not remain up to now, however it is precisely established that its most part was built-in in medresexvii centuries. There are bases to believe that the dome building of the mosque at madrasah originally also was a part of a hanaka of Hodzhi Akhrar. Nasyr hell dynes Ubaydallakh died in 1489 and was buried in the southern part of the complex constructed by it. Over Hodzhi Akhrar's grave the stele from white marble was established. The epitaph, which is cut out on it, is among masterpieces of an Islamic calligraphy. Almost at once the tomb of the hazrati-imam became subject to worship, and near dakhmy in the wall surrounding a complex burials notable the people of Samarkand began to appear.
The following stage of formation of ensemble is connected with a name of the dignitary Nadir Mirzai Tagaya, influential at court of the Bukhara khan, a sofa - run. In 1630/1631 near mazary Hodzhi Akhrara the vizier of Imamkuli-hana begins construction of big madrasah, using for this purpose hanaka elements. Domestic facades of madrasah kept names of direct performers of will of the omnipotent courtier: Dust Muhammad was the chief architect, and Hodge's lips Hashim directed construction works. Construction of spiritual educational institution was complete in 1635/1636. At the same time in close proximity to a mazar the summer mosque was erected. No later than the beginning of the 19th century to it were attached the winter mosque and the second summer ayvan which make the central part of the group of cult constructions extended in one row now.
Further works in the territory of a complex had rather recovery character. Nadir's madrasah a sofa - run strongly suffered from an earthquake of the beginning of the 19th century. Decorative facing of the building was partially showered, the arches hudzhr cracked, the mosque dome at madrasah collapsed. Repair of affected designs was executed in the second half of the 19th century. Also to the basis the remains of a drum of the dome of the mosque were sorted, and the aperture formed in a roof was blocked by a wooden ceiling. The earthquake of 1907 had much more serious consequences. A southeast part of madrasah was almost completely destroyed. The building lost almost all decorative registration. The unique mosaic of a timpan of the entrance portal was showered, and the design deviated an axis on one meter. Urgent strengthening works could not save situation any more. Masters of the beginning of the 20th century completely sorted ready to collapse at any time the top parts of portals and replaced with their simple bricklaying. Hastily made repairs escaped hudzhr brought additional distortions in the initial image of the building. From new constructions during this period in the territory of a complex there was a group of utility rooms and the small minaret built in 1909 by the architect Sagdulla and also ayvana of mosques were newly painted.
Restoration of ensemble of Hodge-Akhrar began in 1978. It was preceded by long-term and laborious work on restoration of initial image of madrasah of Nadir a sofa - run. On the basis of the remained descriptions of the building found in archives of photos of the 19th century and the analysis of the few escaped decor elements specialists of the Uzbek research and design and survey institute of restoration managed to recreate appearance of the building almost completely. Restoration works were carried out by restorers of the Samarkand special scientific and restoration production workshops under the direction of Abdugaffar Hakkulov's lips. In 2007 in the building of madrasah there began work the Museum workshops of national crafts of Uzbekistan.